If you fall into one of the following groups, you are looking at stricter and harsher punishment — making the need for highly qualified DWI legal representation in New Hampshire all the greater.
Minors (under 21)
If you are under 21, you probably face multiple charges, such as the DWI charge itself, plus Minor in Possession (MIP) and/or Minor in Consumption (MIC). Three possible charges, yet it takes less than one drink to get all of them. A minor's blood alcohol content (BAC) need only be 0.02 for a DWI arrest. For most, that's less than one drink!
A minor with a DWI arrest automatically gets his or her license revoked for one year, and may be required to use an ignition interlock device until the age of 21 is reached. Less than one drink can have large consequences.
Commercial drivers, including truck drivers and school bus drivers, face severe consequences for DWI arrests. Even the definition of DWI is different for commercial drivers. If you are a commercial driver, your commercial license privileges will be stripped if your blood alcohol content (BAC) is just 0.04 or above (for a non-commercial driver age 21 or older, the line is drawn at a BAC of 0.08%). A multiple offense always worsens matters, but particularly for commercial drivers; it almost guarantees that your commercial license will be suspended for 10 years. If you're a commercial driver and you get a DWI, your career is seriously at risk.
More than one law is broken
If more than one law is broken in conjunction with your DWI arrest, you could be tried on aggravated charges. Often, a DWI may accompany a traffic violation to result in an aggravated charge. Specific instances in which multiple violations result in an aggravated DWI include:
- Driving 30+ miles per hour over the speed limit
- A collision occurred that resulted in serious bodily injury
- An attempt was made to elude a law enforcement officer
- A BAC of 0.16% or more was measured
Aggravated DWI punishments are similar to that of a regular DWI, only harsher. For example, an aggravated DWI conviction may result in a 7-year prison sentence. When several charges are being tried, it is imperative that you consult an attorney such as New Hampshire DWI lawyer Ryan Russman in order to adequately handle your case.