It happens every day across New Hampshire: One minute you are driving, the next you are being asked by a police officer to stand on one leg, walk a line, and/or blow into a device.
Before you know it, you are charged with a DUI and find yourself sitting in the back of a squad car. A truly shocking turn of events!
Truth is, Driving While Intoxicated (DWI) is one of the most common criminal charges faced by members of our community. Dealing with a drunk driving charge is a serious matter — filled with stress, uncertainty, and confusion.
Unfortunately, it often seems like the odds are stacked against you when stopped by the police and arrested. In these situations it usually feels like the police officers and prosecutors have all of the power. It is easy to feel helpless and resigned to living with the serious consequences.
Never forget: You have options
No matter what the circumstances, help is available to assist you in fighting the charges or minimizing the impact of consequences in your life related to a DWI conviction.
Be aware: Local New Hampshire law enforcement take DUI and DWI very seriously. Not only are officials eager in their attempts to catch drunk drivers, but the justice system provides harsh penalties to those convicted.
While we all understand the importance of keeping our roads safe, it is critical that the rights of drivers not be violated during a DUI stop.
Generally, there are three types of drunk-driving related charges:
Jail time could last anywhere from 10-180 days depending on the severity and circumstances of the crime. While other DWI attorneys have been able to reduce a possible felony to misdemeanor, many don’t worry about a jail sentence. Our New Hampshire DWI lawyer will fight your conviction charge and your punishment. He has helped hundreds of residents located in Manchester, Exeter and other locales in getting charges eradicated from their record for good.
What about lesser charges? If the DUI conviction does not warrant a jail sentence, you may have your license suspended, or sentenced to a remedial program.
A remedial program is time consuming and expensive. According to state law, those sentenced to a remedial program will have to pay all fees (upwards of $5,000) and serve a sentence as long as 28 days. DWI-DUI programs like this have cost individuals their jobs, making it difficult to provide for themselves and their families.
A license suspension could also be included with a remedial program penalty, which doubles on the difficulty in getting to work to make enough money to survive. Your driving privileges could be suspended anywhere from 9 months to more than 5 years depending on your conviction. For adults over the age of 21 the duration of suspension is as follows:
For individuals under the age of 21, your DWI-DUI conviction could increase if you have broken additional laws, or if you were driving a truck or school bus. Our experienced DWI attorneys will assist in defending you against these “Aggravating Circumstances.”
Do you know what an ignition interlock device is? Many criminal defense lawyers are not aware of what this penalty will do to their clients. Because attorney Ryan Russman dedicates his time to understanding New Hampshire DWI-DUI law, he knows the impact this device can have. The ignition interlock device will require convicted individuals to blow into an installed breathalyzer before the ignition in the vehicle will start.
You need an experienced DUI defense lawyer in the courtroom, one who knows all details of New Hampshire law. Among the thousands of DWI defense attorneys in the United States, only a handful can claim to be as experienced as Ryan Russman.
Ryan Russman is the one in thousands that can claim to have all of these credentials. If you want to see positive results on your DWI-DUI case, contact our office right away.