Stalking Laws in NH
Stalking is a serious criminal offense that can result in felony or misdemeanor charges. Anyone who intentionally threatens or behaves in a way that is meant to cause harm to another individual could be subject to a stalking charge in New Hampshire. Under RSA 633:3-a, there are several ways that an individual may be accused of stalking. They include the following:
"Purposely, knowingly, or recklessly" behave in a way that would cause a reasonable person fear for their safety or the safety of their family. This behavior must be targeted at a specific individual.
“Purposely or knowingly” behave in a way that the suspect knows will cause a specific person to which the behavior is targeted to fear for their safety or the safety of a family member.
Engage in a single act against another person when there is an existing no contact order against in effect prohibiting the suspect from contacting the alleged victim.
In order for either of the first two conditions to be met, the suspect must demonstrate a pattern or "course of conduct”. Under Maine law, this means two or more acts must be committed over a period of time demonstrating that the behavior was part of a pattern. Some of these acts are listed under RSA 633:3-a II (a) and include the following:
(1) Threatening the safety of the targeted person or an immediate family member.
(2) Following, approaching, or confronting that person, or a member of that person's immediate family.
(3) Appearing in close proximity to, or entering the person's residence, place of employment, school, or other place where the person can be found, or the residence, place of employment or school of a member of that person's immediate family.
(4) Causing damage to the person's residence or property or that of a member of the person's immediate family.
(5) Placing an object on the person's property, either directly or through a third person, or that of an immediate family member.
(6) Causing injury to that person's pet, or to a pet belonging to a member of that person's immediate family.
Penalties for Stalking in New Hampshire
Under NH law, anyone convicted of stalking will face class A misdemeanor charges. If the offender has previously been convicted of a stalking offense in the past 7 years, they will be charged with a class B felony.
- The penalties for a class A misdemeanor include:
- Up to 1 year of jail time
- Up to $2,000 in fines
- The penalties for a class B felony include:
- 3.5 to 7 years of jail time
- Up to $4,000 in fines
- Up to 5 years of probation
Exeter, NH Stalking Defense Attorney
If you are facing stalking charges in New Hampshire, call Russman Law and speak to a defense lawyer right away. A stalking charge can result in jail time, fines and more. Additionally, you may be subject to a no contact order. Call our office now to set up a consultation.