DWI Education Programs in New Hampshire
One penalty that all DUI offenders face is alcohol and drug education. In New Hampshire, there are two types of programs that a person convicted of DWI will be sentenced to complete. They include the following:
- Impaired Driver Care Management Programs
- Impaired Driver Education Programs
Completion of these programs is mandatory as a condition of driver's license reinstatement. This means that in order to get your ability to drive back, you must show proof that you satisfactorily completed them in accordance with your sentence.
New Hampshire Impaired Driver Education Programs
Under RSA 265-A:18, anyone who is convicted of DWI in New Hampshire is required to complete an impaired driver education program that is approved by the Department of Health and Human Services. This program must be completed before your license can be returned to you. A person who has completed the program previously in the past five years does not have to complete it again as long as they can show proof of that.
Requirements for this program are spelled out under RSA 265-A:39. This law states that the Department of Health and Human Services is responsible for approving impaired driver education programs that DWI offenders can take in order to meet the requirements of their sentencing. One important concern is that the program does not cost the state any money and is instead funded by offenders. An impaired driver education program consists of a minimum of 20 hours of "evidence-based educational curriculum". The Department of Health and Human Services decides what the instructions and course content of these programs will be. They also regulate what the cost will be, who is qualified to instruct these classes, what materials are needed, where the programs can be located, etc.
New Hampshire Impaired Driver Care Management Programs
The second type of program that DWI offenders are sentenced to complete is an Impaired Driver Care Management Programs (IDCMP). Under RSA 265-A:40, The Department of Health and Human Services is in charge of deciding what programs are capable of satisfying this part of the offender's sentence. An approved program shall provide the following services to DWI offenders outlined in RSA 265-A:40II:
(a) Screening of first-time offenders, using a screening test approved by the department of health and human services, to determine whether they need a full evaluation for substance use disorders.
(b) Conducting a full substance use disorder evaluation, as necessary.
(c) Development of a service plan based on this assessment of the client, which may include referral to education and/or treatment programs.
(d) Monitoring of the services provided to the client under the service plan.
(e) Notifying the division of motor vehicles and the sentencing court if the client fails to comply with the service plan.
(f) Periodic face-to-face evaluations of the client's progress.
(g) Administration of drug and alcohol tests or other abstinence monitoring regimen required by the court or included in the service plan.
(h) Reporting the results of monitoring or final evaluation and completion by the IDCMP, as appropriate, to the sentencing court, the division of motor vehicles, and the department of health and human services.
Under New Hampshire DWI sentencing laws, a first-time offender must participate in this program within 14 days of conviction. If this program determines that the offender requires a full substance use disorder evaluation, they must complete it in 30 days of conviction.
DWI License Reinstatement Requirements
In order for a DWI offender to get their license reinstated after their sentenced period of suspension, they will need to prove that they have completed all of the following:
- The Impaired Driver Care Management Program
- The Impaired Driver Education Program
- The full substance use disorder evaluation, if necessary
- Abiding by the plan developed through the substance use disorder evaluation by the IDCMP
- Payment of all necessary fines for both education programs
New Hampshire DWI Defense Attorney
For more information about the penalties that you face for a DWI conviction in New Hampshire, contact our office. An experienced attorney can explain to you what consequences you are facing and how serious your charges are. Almost all DWI offenders are sentenced to complete these types of education classes. If you are from out-of-state, your attorney can help you make sure that you are able to meet this requirement without venturing back into this state. Attorney Ryan Russman understands drunk driving laws in detail. He is a leading authority in New Hampshire on all things DWI. Call now for free consultation and to speak to attorney Russman.