Third Offense

Multiple DWI offenders face stiff penalties in any state. Similarly, a DWI third offense in New Hampshire carries multiple and harsh penalties that will require you to spend time in jail and profoundly destroy your lifestyle.

If you are charged with a dui 3rd offense, you would have already experienced the hassle of suffering a license suspension of at least 9 months for your first offense, and at least 3 years for your second DWI.

You would have spent at least 10 days in jail, or 30 days if your conviction was within 2 years, for your second offense. You would also likely have completed a drug or alcohol treatment program and a 7-day multiple offender program (MOP).

Although New Hampshire does not require auto liability coverage, you did need to file an SR-22 with the DMV to get your license back, demonstrating that you were meeting your financial responsibility at considerable expense to you.

Being careful not to drink and drive is always necessary, but even more so if you are a multiple offender. Now you face the real possibility of being unable to drive for at least the next 5 years, and perhaps longer. Further, you will spend at least one month in jail followed by nearly a month of inpatient alcohol treatment among other conditions.

Penalties for a DUI 3rd Offense

Once law enforcement stopped you for a traffic violation or for driving erratically, the officer would have discovered that you are a multiple DWI offender. This likely predisposed the officer to assume you were driving while intoxicated; your behavior and driving style may have confirmed his or her preconception.

There are defenses available to you if you retain an outstanding New Hampshire DWI lawyer like Attorney Ryan Russman. Hiring the right lawyer is critical: you are facing a multitude of penalties that are much harsher than what you previously experienced.

The law requires that anyone convicted of a DWI 3rd offense in New Hampshire spend a minimum of 180 days, or 6 months, in jail. Depending upon the circumstances of your case, you could face up to one year. You can have 5 months of your sentence deferred if you complete a 28-day inpatient treatment program.

If convicted, you'll spend a minimum of 30 days in a county correctional facility. Once you complete the 28-day inpatient alcohol or drug treatment program, you may be required to obtain more treatment or counseling if the court feels it is needed in your case.

Your court fine will be at least $750.00 and up to $2,000. Along with your jail sentence, your driving privileges are suspended indefinitely. You may never drive again. Attorney Russman can petition the court on your behalf for reinstatement after 5 years, but there is no guarantee the judge will agree to lift your suspension.

If we successfully petition the court for reinstatement after at least 5 years, it is highly likely you will have to install an ignition interlock system in any vehicle you use or have registered under your name. You will have to blow into this device, which will detect any blood alcohol concentration (BAC) in your system, and it will not allow the vehicle to start if your BAC is 0.02 or higher.

PENALTIES FOR A NEW HAMPSHIRE DWI THIRD OFFENSE

Fines and Costs

Incarceration and Treatment

License Revocation

Ignition Interlock Device

Minimum fine of $750.00 to $2,000 and 20% penalty assessment

Minimum 180 days up to 12 months-30 consecutive days in county house of corrections with 5 months possibly deferred with completion of 28 days of inpatient treatment

Indefinite suspension. May petition for reinstatement after 5 years

Device to be installed in all vehicles registered to and used by offender for 12 months to 2 years once license is reinstated

28-day inpatient alcohol or drug treatment program at cost of several thousand dollars

Possible additional alcohol or drug treatment program

File SR-22 if license is reinstated

Any BAC recordings above 0.02 percent

is made available to authorities with possible license revocation

Ignition interlock device at $100 per month

No restricted or conditional license available

Several thousand dollars to maintain SR-22 proof of financial responsibility for an indefinite period if license is reinstated

All subsequent DWI offenses will be treated as a felony DWI. See our page on felony DWI for the penalties you face.

Retain New Hampshire DWI Attorney Russman

As a multiple offender, you face substantial jail time and inpatient treatment, along with a possible lifelong suspension of your license. The fees and costs associated with a New Hampshire DWI third offense can be staggering.

If you are facing a DUI third offense, contact Ryan Russman right away. He is one of the top New Hampshire DWI attorneys, and can explore all possible defenses to your DUI charges.

NH DUI attorney Russman is recognized statewide for his defense prowess in DWI cases. He has written The DWI Book for consumers to use as a guide for protecting their rights; and the New Hampshire DWI Defense, written specifically for attorneys practicing DWI defense.

Attorney Russman is Board Certified in DWI Defense Law by the ABA-accredited National College for DUI Defense. He has also been named a New Hampshire Super Lawyer.

Trust your case to someone who knows what it takes to vigorously defend you against a DUI third offense.

Contact Ryan Russman for a free, confidential consultation.