Arrested for Drunk Driving While Traveling in New Hampshire
Many people drive in between states as part of their employment or for recreation.
Unfortunately, sometimes these individuals make the mistake of driving while intoxicated. DWI is a serious and life-altering event. And knowing how an out-of-state DUI works can be complicated and confusing.
If you live in a state other than New Hampshire and were arrested for driving under the influence while here, you should visit Russman Law Offices, a highly respected NH DWI law firm.
Hiring DWI defense attorney Ryan Russman could definitely improve your odds in the criminal justice system.
NH DUI and Travel
One thing a person may wonder about is how DWI's differ between states.
Usually, when a person is charged with a DUI out of state, what occurs in the legal system is determined by something referred to as the interstate drivers license compact — an agreement between 45 different states.
Basically, this compact allows different states to inform the home state of a driver of his or her DWI arrest.
For example, if a Massachusetts resident is arrested for a DWI in New Hampshire, the legal system in New Hampshire will inform the system in Massachusetts of the arrest. The DWI will then be treated as if it had originated in the state of Massachusetts.
Before such a system was implemented, enforcing drunk-driving laws in different states was an extremely complicated and expensive process for all involved. The use of this compact has had the effect of both enforcing drunk-driving laws and keeping the system simple and efficient.
You Need an NH DWI Law Firm
Driving under the influence while visiting another state almost always transfers back to the state where you live.
New Hampshire DUI laws involve rather harsh penalties for those convicted of this crime. A first-time conviction in New Hampshire can result in a 10-day minimum jail sentence, up to a $750 fine, and a license suspension of up to two years.
This is why it's a good idea to contact Exeter DWI defense attorney Ryan Russman if you received your drunk-driving citation in New Hampshire.
We're deeply experienced with local drunk-driving laws and can provide you with the expert legal consultation you need to possibly limit your penalties. When you get back to your home state, you could face increases in insurance costs, points on your driving record and more. If you deal with it right away, here in New Hampshire, you'll be much better off.