DWI in Portsmouth, NH
Driving while intoxicated or DWI is one criminal offense that law enforcement takes very seriously. A person can be charged with DWI for operating a vehicle, watercraft or OHRV (off highway recreational vehicle) while under the influence of drugs, alcohol or a combination of the two or with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more.
Every year, law enforcement makes an effort to identify and arrest drivers who are under the influence. According to the Portsmouth Police's 2013 Annual Report, police made 57 DWI arrests in 2013. They also made 4,519 traffic stops and 17 minors arrested for unlawful possession of alcohol. That same year they reportedly used more than $495,000 in grant money to carry out special programs including DWI enforcement and saturation patrols.
If you are facing DWI charges in Portsmouth, call Russman Law right away. Even a first time conviction can result in 180 days of license suspension, $500 in fines, drug or alcohol counseling and more. The best way to avoid these penalties is to hire an experienced attorney who can help you fight the charges. Regardless of the charges that you are facing, a DWI lawyer can help you build a strong defense.
Common Portsmouth DUI Offenses
Per se DWI: A person who operates a vehicle with an alcohol concentration over the legal limit can be charged with per se DWI. In New Hampshire, the legal limit for drivers under 21 is 0.02, for drivers over 21 the limit is 0.08 and for drivers with commercial licenses the legal limit is 0.04.
Drug DWI: A driver can also be charged with DWI for operating a vehicle with drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol in their system. This applies to any type of drug including illegal drugs like marijuana, prescription drugs and even over-the-counter drugs such as allergy medicines or sleep aids.
Repeat DWI: Sentencing for DWI crimes in Portsmouth depends largely on an offender's prior criminal record. Police will perform a background check on all DWI suspects to see if they have previously been convicted of a DWI related offense in the past. For each prior conviction found, the penalties will be greater.
Aggravated DWI: A driver who is arrested for suspicion of DWI and was found speeding 30 or more mph over the limit, causing an accident that led to injury, eluding police or carrying a minor passenger will be charged with aggravated DWI. Aggravated DWI includes a higher class of charges and steeper penalties.
Juvenile DWI: Any driver who is under the age of 21 is subject to stricter DWI laws. The legal alcohol concentration limit for underage drivers in New Hampshire is 0.02. A juvenile DWI conviction will include a mandatory 1 year license suspension. Any underage DWI suspect may also be charged with undeage possession or consumption.
Commercial DWI: Drivers with commercial licenses are also subject to stricter DWI laws. This includes a lower alcohol concentration limit of 0.04 when driving a commercial vehicle. Commercial license holders cannot refuse breathalyzer or blood sobriety test and such a refusal will lead to an automatic one year of license suspension.
BWI (Boating While Intoxicated): Just like vehicles, it is illegal to operate a boat in New Hampshire under the influence of drugs or alcohol or with an alcohol concentration of 0.08 or more. A conviction of BWI can result in a one-year suspension of boating privileges, alcohol or drugs counseling and even a misdemeanor conviction.
DWI Accidents: A driver who is under the influence and causes an accident resulting in bodily harm can be charged with aggravated DUI. If someone is killed in the accident, the driver will face negligent homicide charges. This is a felony charge and can result in steep fines, jail time and license suspension.
Call a Portsmouth DWI Lawyer
If you have been arrested for suspicion of DWI in Portsmouth, call our office right now. No matter what kind of charges you are facing, the DUI lawyers at Russman Law can help you. Attorney Ryan Russman is one of New Hampshire's top DWI attorneys. He has vast experience and knowledge in the field and can help you get the best results possible by building a strong defense. Call our Portsmouth office now at 603-373-1664 to get started.
Portsmouth DWI Courts
NH 10th Circuit Court
District Division: Portsmouth
111 Parrott Avenue
Portsmouth, NH 03801-4490
Justice : Hon. Sawako Tachibana Gardner
Circuit Clerk : Diane Caron
Deputy clerk: Marcia Chin-Colby
Phone : 1-855-212-1234
Hours : Monday - Friday, 8:00am to 4:00pm