DWI in Exeter, New Hampshire
Police in Exeter, NH are always looking to crack down on drivers who are under the influence. On the police website there is even a counter showing how many DWI arrests have been made so far each year. According to USA.com data Exeter has a very low crime rate when compared to both the United States and New Hampshire. As a result, police have more time to patrol for crimes such as DWI. In 2010 the Exeter police force had 28 employees made up of 10 civilians and 18 officers. That is roughly 1.6 officers per 100,000 residents.
DWI crimes are taken very seriously in New Hampshire. The Century Council reports that in 2011 there were 27 alcohol related fatal auto accidents including one death involving a driver under 21. In order to lower this number, police routinely patrol for signs of drunk drivers and ask citizens to report any vehicles that they witness driving erratically to authorities. In Exeter, a driver can be charged with driving while intoxicated for operating a vehicle:
- With a BAC over the legal limit
- Under the influence of drugs
- Under the influence of alcohol
- Under the influence of a combination of drugs and alcohol
Drivers can also be charged for carrying open containers of alcohol in their vehicles, operating without a license, reckless driving and more. If you have been accused of driving under the influence in Exeter, call a DWI attorney right away to help you fight your charges and get the results you want.
Common DWI Exeter Charges
There are many circumstances that can lead to a DWI charge in Exeter. Depending on your criminal history and the circumstances surrounding your arrest, the penalties can be increased. Even a first-time offender, however, can be subject to license suspension and other penalties. The best way to avoid a harsh sentence is to fight your charges with the aid of an experienced DWI attorney.
Per se DWI: Per se DWI is when a person is charged with drunk driving because their alcohol concentration was over the legal limit. In Exeter, the legal limit for adults over the age of 21 is 0.08. The limit for anyone under 21 is 0.02 and for commercial drivers it is 0.04. No other evidence is needed to prove that a driver was per se DWI other than the result of their chemical sobriety test showing they were over the limit.
Aggravated DWI: A driver who is accused of DWI can face even more serious penalties if they are charged with aggravated DWI. These charges arise when a driver shows extreme negligence by driving at speeds of 30 miles or more over the limit, causing serious bodily injury, attempting to run from police before being stopped or carrying a passenger under the age of 16.
Drug related DWI: A drug DWI can occur due to drug intoxication of any type. This includes illegal drugs like marijuana, cocaine and methamphetamines as well as legal drugs like sleep aids and allergy medicine. Additionally, DWI drug laws include controlled prescription substances whether they were medically prescribed or used illegally. Any drug with side effects that could impair a driver's ability to operate a vehicle can be subject to a drug DUI charge.
Repeat DWI: In Exeter, the more DWI convictions you have on your record, the more serious penalties you will face. When a person is arrested for DWI, police review their criminal record. If there are any prior convictions for DUI or DUI related crimes within the past 10 years, any subsequent conviction will include steeper fines and longer periods of jail time and license suspension.
Juvenile DWI: Any driver who is under the legal drinking age of 21 in Exeter is subject to New Hampshire's juvenile DWI law. According to this law, underage drivers have a legal alcohol concentration limit of 0.02. If a juvenile driver has an alcohol concentration over this limit, they can be charged with per se DWI and sentenced to license suspension of one year. Juveniles can also be charged with criminal DWI if they have an alcohol concentration over 0.08 or are impaired by drugs while operating a vehicle.
Felony DWI: The most serious DWI offenses will result in felony charges. Anyone who drives under the influence and causes an accident which leads to serious injury of another person can face class B felony charges which include a minimum of 14 days of jail time, $1,000 fine and the installation of an interlock device. A DWI driver who causes death can also face vehicular homicide or other serious criminal charges.
BWI: BWI stands for Boating While Intoxicated. Operating a boat is very common in New Hampshire so lawmakers want to make sure that boaters are held to the same standard as motor vehicle drivers. A person can be charged with BWI or aggravated BWI for operating a boat or water vehicle under the influence of drugs or alcohol just like they can while operating an automobile.
Exeter Criminal Court
Exeter DWI cases are heard in the following Court:
10th Circuit Court: District Division
10 Route 125
Brentwood, New Hampshire 03833
Circuit Clerk: Cheryll Andrews
Hours: Monday - Friday 8:00am to 4:00pm
Call an Exeter Lawyer
When facing a DWI charge, it is important to understand the law. The penalties for a DWI crime are strict and can result in license suspension, jail time, fines and more. If you refused a sobriety test you could also face additional license suspension. In order to fight that suspension, you will need to request a hearing within 3 days of your arrest.
If you have been arrested for DWI in Exeter, contact Russman Law right away. It is important to hire an attorney who understands the courts in the specific city where you are facing charges. We have an office located in Exeter and attorney Ryan Russman has extensive experience with the Exeter criminal courts. Call us now at (603) 772-3433 to get started.