Many New Hampshire citizens have had the unfortunate experience of being pulled over by a police officer. Depending on the situation you may just be slightly nervous, or you may be shaking so hard you would not be able to hold your license and registration, even if you could find it. Most people are particularly worried about the fine associated with a moving violation.
However, you also need to be aware of accruing points on your license. New Hampshire operates on a point system, where your license accrues points based on the severity of your offense. A license suspension in New Hampshire occurs when you reach a certain point total.
Drivers aged 21 and older who receive 12 points in one calendar year can receive a suspension of up to three months. Accruing 18 points in two calendar years can lead to a six month suspension. Certain offenses, like a NH DWI conviction may result in an automatic license suspension, regardless of the number of points currently on your license. The length of a suspension for a DUI conviction will depend on the severity of the violation and whether it is your first offense.
If your license is suspended you are entitled to an administrative hearing. In order to receive a hearing, you must complete and file a Request for Administrative Suspension Hearing within 10 days of your suspension.
While some states offer a “hardship license” or an “occupationally limited license” that allows someone with a suspended license to commute to work or to drive on the job, New Hampshire does not. If your license is suspended in New Hampshire, you must wait for your suspension to end before driving again. The penalties for driving on a suspended license are severe and will only lengthen the time that you are not allowed to drive.
The New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles Bureau of Financial Responsibility is responsible for the NH license reinstatement process. Once your suspension is finished, you will receive a written notice of restoration from the Department of Motor Vehicles. It is very important that you do not drive until you have received a valid, replacement license from the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles.
The process for getting a license reinstated depends on the reason for suspension. Before you can get your license back, you must complete all of the items required by the New Hampshire Department of Motor Vehicles. Your requirements may include payment of fines, attending driver improvement training, attending drug or alcohol rehabilitation and filling out various forms.
For example, if you have your license suspended for a DWI, then you will need to complete the Impaired Driver Improvement Program, a Phase II Program, or a Multiple Offender Program and file a SR-22 form before applying for reinstatement.
If you are considered a habitual offender, which is a very serious disciplinary program, then you will need to file a Request for Decertification from Habitual Offender Revocation Form and submit it to the Bureau of Hearings. A habitual offender is a person who has 12 convictions, 3 major convictions, or a combination of major and minor convictions within a 5-year period.
If your license is in danger of being suspended contact NH Attorney Ryan Russman TODAY, before it's too late.