While DWI is usually a misdemeanor charge, there are circumstances that can cause the courts to upgrade the DWI charge from a misdemeanor to a felony. Aggravated DWI becomes a Class B felony if the offense caused serious bodily injury.
Likewise, your fourth DWI conviction (out-of-state convictions included) will result in a felony conviction. New Hampshire will consider all offenses within the last 10 years. Felony DWI convictions require active jail time and mandatory license suspension.
The penalties for Felony DWI in New Hampshire include all of the penalties for aggravated DWI but carry even higher fines and more jail time. You will also be required to carry special insurance coverage. New Hampshire does not require its drivers to carry automobile insurance. Drivers who have been convicted of DWI or have been in an accident and were unable to pay for the damages and/or medical bills to the other party, are required to provide an SR-22 certificate from an insurance company to the NH DMV. This requirement also applies to out-of-state drivers.
Because Felony DUI is a Class B felony, the courts can order you to serve 3½ to 7 years in prison. In New Hampshire, the terms DWI (Driving While Impaired), DUI (Driving Under the Influence), and OUI (Operating Under the Influence) are interchangeable.
NH Felony DWI Attorney – Russman Law Offices
Upon being charged with a serious offense such as aggravated DWI or Felony DWI, you will need a good attorney by you side to ensure that your rights are protected. Attorney Ryan Russman has the training and skills to guarantee that you receive the best defense possible.
Attorney Russman is a leading legal authority on DWI in New Hampshire. He is Board Certified by The National College for DUI Defense. He is also the author of two books on New Hampshire DWI. To aid in his clients' defense, attorney Russman is a certified, evidentiary breath technician on the Intoxilyzer 5000EN.